top of page

Theology & Religion Subject Guide

Stephanie Moon (1st year)


What does a typical day studying Theology and Religion at Keble look like?


9AM - Hebrew class

11AM - Catch up on online lectures on Figure of Jesus Through the Centuries

12PM - Lunch

1PM - Tutorial on New Testament

2PM - Chill with friends

5PM - New Testament seminar

7PM - Practice


Why do you like studying Theology and Religion at Keble?


The very nature upon which Keble was founded, the Oxford Movement, gives rise to the fact that theology at Keble is a very unique and special experience. I am able to glean from the red bricks of Keble the rich traditions that surround it and the legacy of John Keble. The body of scholars at Keble are also renowned in their field regarding the New Testament, so it excites me to be able to interact with them one-on-one during my tutorials. They push me to dig deeper, prod me to answer questions that I hadn’t thought of before, and encourage me to think critically. Through my tutes (tutorials) and classes, I’ve been able to write a (somewhat) coherent essay, become more articulate in defending my stance, and challenge people when I find fault with their arguments. The tutors are also generally very lovely people and helpful whenever I need guidance. I’ve been able to talk to and meet them personally whenever I had questions - they’ve pointed me to lots of further resources that I wouldn’t have been able to find on my own. The fact that I have a couple options to choose from for my first year papers also gives me flexibility and freedom to focus on what I like studying within theology. For example, out of the many classical languages I could take, I chose Biblical Hebrew because I am interested in text criticism regarding the Hebrew Bible and Judaism. Within our Religion and Religions paper, we also have the option to focus on one major world religion, and I chose Judaism. Overall, studying Theology and Religion at Keble gives me a vast array of opportunities and resources that make it a very enjoyable place for learning and growing as a student.


Personal statement advice

  • Start writing early. It took me a few months to just get down a first draft and hone it so it would portray my interests in theology well. Since there are so many directions in which you could take it, it would be helpful to dive deep into your particular areas of interest. I’ve revised and re-revised my personal statement to the point where it was unnecessary - remember that every word counts

  • Instead of writing your own personal opinions, state what the current general consensus is on a topic e.g. epistemology of religion

  • Structure your essay well

  • Why are you interested in Theology and Religion? What are your specific interests? What have you done to study it on a greater level? What do you have to bring to the table? In other words, why should they pick you, and not anyone else, to study here?

Interview advice

  • Be familiar with everything you’ve mentioned in personal statement

  • Feel free to ask for clarifications if they ask an ambiguous/ unclear question

  • If you’re unable to defend a stance, it’s okay to say that you were unaware of its implications and admit that you’ve now changed your stance

  • Don’t overthink the particular words the interviewer might say or their facial expressions

  • Be confident in what you say



Got a question? Get in touch

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by Train of Thoughts. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page